Will Deleting My Old IPhone Affect My New One?

Can I use the same Apple ID on 2 phones?

You can use a single AppleID on many devices, including 2 iphones.

You can use a single AppleID on many devices, including 2 iphones.

Note though that if you use the same AppleID for iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime then you are using a single account for those services..

Does iCloud save photos forever?

If you have the space on your device, and on iCloud Photo Library, then you can keep the images there forever. iCloud Photo Library keeps your photos and videos organized into various sections. These are called “Moments”, “Collections”, and “Years”. These are synced across all your Mac and iOS devices.

Will erasing my old iPhone affect my new one?

Erasing the old device will not affect the new one. That is necessary for you to be able to wipe the device.

How do I delete data from my old iPhone without deleting my new iPhone?

Go into Settings > iCloud > Delete Account > Delete > Keep on My iPhone. Following these steps will not affect information on your new phone or your iPad and allow you to delete information from your old iPhone without removing it from your other devices.

Does erasing iPhone affect iCloud?

3 Answers. No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.

What do I do with my old iPhone after upgrade?

You finally upgraded! Now what are you supposed to do what that 4-year old iPhone?Sell or donate it.Make it a dedicated music player.Turn it into a kid’s entertainment device.Make it an Apple TV remote.Make it a permanent car, bike, or kitchen fixture.Use it as a baby monitor.Turn it into your bedside buddy.

Do you have to turn in your old phone when you upgrade?

You basically have two options when it comes to your old phone: you keep it or you ditch it. That’s the basis of it, anyway. If you decide to keep your device, then you at least have a back-up plan in the case that something happens to your new phone.

How do you switch between iPhones?

Steps for Switching to Someone Else’s iPhoneBackup Your Old iPhone. Download and install iTunes on your computer, and connect your iPhone to the computer using its USB cable. … Clear Your iPhones. … Change The SIM Cards. … Restore The New iPhone.

Does erasing iPhone affect other devices?

If you go to Settings>General>Reset and tap Erase All Content and Settings it won’t effect any other devices. You would only start erasing data from the iPad if you were to go to the individual data areas on the phone and start deleting data.

Can I still use my old iPhone after upgrade?

After upgrading to a new iPhone, you’re left with a decision: What do you do with the old one? When it comes time to upgrade to a new phone, you’re faced with a decision. … Even with just Wi-Fi access and no cellular connection, your old iPhone ($699 at Apple) can still be useful.

Can I still use my old phone after upgrade?

You can certainly keep your old phones and put them to use. When I upgrade my phones, I’ll probably replace my crumbling iPhone 4S as my nightly reader with my comparably new Samsung S4. You can also keep and re-carrier your old phones. … My advice is this: keep your old phone for fun and games.

Will deleting photo from iPhone delete from iCloud?

When you delete a photo or video from your Photos app, it also deletes from your iCloud Photos and iCloud storage. You can recover your photos and videos from the Recently Deleted album for 30 days.

What should I do before switching iPhones?

Before you begin Make sure that you have a backup of your device. Have your Apple ID and password ready. Transfer your SIM card. If your new device needs a different SIM card than what you have, or an eSIM, contact your carrier.

How do I transfer everything from my old iPhone to my new one?

How to use iPhone migrationTurn on your new iPhone and place it near your current iPhone that’s using iOS 12.4 or later. … Wait for an animation to appear on your new iPhone. … When asked, enter your current iPhone passcode on your new iPhone.Follow the instructions to set up Face ID or Touch ID on your new iPhone.More items…•

Do photos stay on iCloud if deleted from iPhone?

According to Apple, deleted photos and videos will be stored in your account for 30 days (technically, they are moved to the Recently Deleted album). … Yes, those files disappear from your iCloud Photo Library after 30 days, no longer showing up in the Recently Deleted album either on synced devices or on icloud.com.

How do I separate two iphones with the same Apple ID?

Sign in with a different Apple ID to create your new account. Choose, Merge, to upload your data. Once you are on separate accounts, you can each go to icloud.com and delete the other person’s data from your account.

How do I deactivate my old iPhone and activate a new one?

Go into Settings > iCloud and tap on your name. Once you’ve signed in, you will see devices as an option. Here you will see all the Apple devices you’ve signed into (if you have more than one activated). If you want to disconnect a phone from your account, tap on it and tap on remove from account.

What happens if you switch SIM cards in iPhones?

If you change it for a SIM from the same carrier, nothing happens, the device continues working as before. If you change it for a SIM from another carrier and the phone is locked to the original, then it will work as a fancy iPod, none of the phone capabilities will be available.